Can’t get enough of crochet blankets at the minute!

So I recently blogged about the v-stitch blanket I had started and as one project begins another ends. il_570xN_753339260_sl9nLast night I finished a quick and squidgy baby blanket using James C Brett Supreme Baby DK. I love this yarn it is soft and lightweight and gorgeous to work with. It is a great quality considering the price too. For this blanket I wanted something really light and bouncy so I used a bigger hook than I usually would (5mm). The finished item is intended for use with a pram and i wanted it to be the perfect size to fling over a car seat. I like to imagine the recipient will keep it for years to come as a comforting reminder of childhood that can be draped over chilly knees in the winter months. I wanted something that would be suitable for a little boy or girl so stayed away from the pinks and chose a meadow green (SNG7) Grey/Beige (SNG10) and pale blue (SNG13). I also kept the border simple as i didn’t want anything to frilly.WP_20150406_19_22_08_Rich I had to make a matching beanie hat too – just imagine little eyes peeping out from under the brim whilst snuggled up warm in the matching blanket! Here is the finished results. The main blanket was made in granny stripes. I started alternating colours 1 row at a time then the main body of the blanket is colours alternated 2 at a time and that back to 1 per row to make it symetrical. The beanie was completed using half trebles (UK crochet term) I used 3 balls (1 of each colour in total) and had left overs – The finished blanket measures about 26″ square. WP_20150406_19_15_34_Pro The Border was from one of my favourite crochet books by Edie Eckman called, appropriately enough, ‘Crochet Borders’. I love this blanket will definitely make something similar again when I have finished the million other projects I have on the go 🙂

Leave a Reply

