One of my favourite free crochet patterns – Star Crochet blanket

As well as running an online yarn store I spend the rest of my spare time (short as it is with 2 kids to look after) crocheting and knitting. I love going on instagram, pinterest and Facebook pages for inspiration so thought I would post some links in my next few blog entries to a few of my favourite patterns. I use these patterns again and again. I like simple straightforward designs that can be recreated in many different colours to make items that are vastly different but beautiful (hopefully!)

This post is about a pattern which is available for free on Ravelry (the link is below)

9 Pointed Star Ripplie Blanket by Gene Saunders

I love love love this pattern, it is easy to do, once you’re past the first few rounds you can put your pattern to one side and just relax into it. The colours you pick and the order you use them can make a massive difference to the finished item. You can change colours every round or every few rounds to make thicker ‘stripes’.

Here are a few I have made, they make lovely baby blankets or are great for lapghans (afghans to warm your lap).

WP_20150601_17_51_45_Rich

This blue and green star blanket is made using King Cole Pricewise DK in Royal, Jade, Surf, Sea Green and crcous all available at JMCrafts the yarn is just £1.79 a ball so this blanket was really cheap to make. I use a 5mm crochet hook for these blankets.il_570xN.766308853_ny4v

I love rainbow crochet items and this is the first star blanket I made using this pattern. Perfect for a pram or a bright nursery, the colours used in this are Cygnet DK £1.69 per 100g from JMCrafts in red, orange, sunshine, Saxe, Electric Blue and Regal and King Cole Pricewise DK in Jade. I think it came our really well.

11885055_1598555550409418_5368348654281054081_n

The latest star blanket I made was this girly baby blanket. I used James C Brett Supreme Baby DK which is my favourite value baby yarn. It is really soft and the colours in the range complement each other really well. I picked 2 shades of pink and a meadow green, complemented with a soft cream to make the stars POP!

WP_20150819_22_22_54_Rich

2 thoughts on “One of my favourite free crochet patterns – Star Crochet blanket

Leave a Reply

